Monday, November 5, 2018

Predictions 2018 - Pure and Simple

Predictions 2018 - Pure and Simple
Commentary by Sanford D. Horn
November 5, 2018

Predictions - that’s it; not who I am rooting for; not why someone will win - just predictions. Now, if you have not already done so, go vote! NOW! (Or at the very least, after reviewing the following.) I intend to vote substance over style - not a straight ticket.

Governor Races:

Alabama: Governor Kay Ivey (R) over Walter Maddox (D)

Alaska: (open seat) Mike Dunleavy (R) over Mark Begich (D)

Arizona: Governor Doug Ducey (R) over David Garcia (D) and Angel Torres (G)

Arkansas: Governor Asa Hutchinson (R) over Jared Henderson (D)

California: (open seat) Gavin Newsom (D) over John Cox (R) 

Colorado: (open seat) Jared Polis (D) over Walker Stapleton (R) 

Connecticut: (open seat) Bob Stefanowski (R) over Ned Lamont (D)

Florida: (open seat) Ron DeSantis (R) over Andrew Gillum (D)

Georgia (open seat) Brian Kemp (R) over Stacey Abrams (D)

Hawaii: Governor David Ige (D) over Andria Tupola (R) 

Idaho: (open seat) Brad Little (R) over Paulette Jordan (D) 

Illinois: J.B. Pritzker (D) over Governor Bruce Rauner (R) 

Iowa: Governor Kim Reynolds (R) over Fred Hubbell (D)

Kansas: (open seat) Kris Kobach (R) over Laura Kelly (D) and Greg Orman (I)

Maine (open seat) Janet Mills (D) over Shawn Moody (R) 

Maryland: Governor Larry Hogan (R) over Ben Jealous (D)

Massachusetts: Governor Charlie Baker (R) over Jay Gonzalez (D)

Michigan: (open seat) Gretchen Whitmer (D) over Bill Schuette (R) 

Minnesota: (open seat) Tim Walz (D) over Jeff Johnson (R) 

Nebraska: Governor Pete Ricketts (R) over Bob Krist (D)

Nevada: (open seat) Adam Laxalt (R) over Steve Sisolak (D) and Jared Lord (L)

New Hampshire: Governor Chris Sununu (R) over Molly Kelly (D)

New Mexico: (open seat) Michelle Lujan Grisham (D) over Steve Pearce (R) 

New York: Governor Andrew Cuomo (D) over Marc Molinaro (R) 

Ohio: (open seat) Richard Cordray (D) over Mike DeWine (R) 

Oklahoma: (open seat) Kevin Stitt (R) over Drew Edmondson (D)

Oregon: Governor Kate Brown (D) over Knute Buehler (R) 

Pennsylvania: Governor Tom Wolf (D) over Scott Wagner (R) 

Rhode Island: Governor Gina Raimondo (D) over Allan Fung (R) 

South Carolina: Governor Henry McMaster (R) over James Smith (D)

South Dakota: (open seat) Kristi Noem (R) over Billie Sutton (D) and Kurt Evans (L)

Tennessee: (open seat) Bill Lee (R) over Karl Dean (D)

Texas: Governor Greg Abbott (R) over Lupe Valdez (D)

Vermont: Governor Phil Scott (R) over Christine Hallquist (D)

Wisconsin: Governor Scott Walker (R) over Tony Evers (D)

Wyoming: (open seat) Mark Gordon (R) over Mary Throne (D)

IF, and that's a big if, my predictions are rock solid, there will be 30 GOP governors and 20 Democrat governors when we wake up Wednesday morning.

Senate Races:

Arizona: (open seat) Martha McSally (R) over Kyrsten Sinema (D) 

California: Senator Dianne Feinstein (D) over Kevin de Leon (D)

Connecticut: Senator Chris Murphy (D) over Mathew Corey (R) 

Delaware: Senator Thomas Carper (D) over Rob Arlett (R) 

Florida: Senator Bill Nelson (D) over Rick Scott (R) 

Hawaii: Senator Mazie Hirono (D) over Ron Curtis (R) 

Indiana: Senator Joe Donnelly (D) over Mike Braun (R) 

Maine: Senator Angus King (I) over Eric Brakey (R) 

Maryland: Senator Ben Cardin (D) over Tony Campbell (R) 

Massachusetts: Senator Elizabeth Warren (D) over Geoff Diehl (R) 

Michigan: Senator Debbie Stabenow (D) over John James (R) 

Minnesota: Senator Amy Klobuchar (D) over Jim Newberger (R) 

Minnesota: (special election) Senator Tina Smith (D) over Karin Housley (R) 

Missouri: Josh Hawley (R) over Senator Claire McCaskill (D)

Mississippi: Senator Roger Wicker (R) over David Baria (D)

Mississippi: (special election) Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R) & Mike Espy (D) will go to a run-off, eliminating Chris McDaniel (R) 

Montana: Senator Jon Tester (D) over Matt Rosendale (R) 

Nebraska: Senator Deb Fischer (R) over Jane Raybould (D)

Nevada: Senator Dean Heller (R) over Jacky Rosen (D)

New Jersey: Senator Bob Menendez (D) over Bob Hugin (R) 

New Mexico: Senator Martin Heinrich (D) over Mick RIch (R) and Gary Johnson (L)

New York: Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D) over Chele Farley (R) 

North Dakota: Kevin Cramer (R) over Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D)

Ohio: Senator Sherrod Brown (D) over Jim Renacci (R) 

Pennsylvania: Senator Bob Casey (D) over Lou Barletta (R) 

Rhode Island: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D) over Bob Flanders (R) 

Tennessee: (open seat) Marsha Blackburn (R) over Phil Bredesen (D)

Texas: Senator Ted Cruz (R) over “Beto” O’ Rourke (D)

Utah: (open seat) Mitt Romney (R) over Jenny Wilson (D)

Vermont: Senator Bernie Sanders (I) over Lawrence Zupan (R) 

Virginia: Senator Tim Kaine (D) over Corey Stewart (R) 

Washington: Senator Maria Cantwell (D) over Susan Hutchison (R) 

West Virginia: Senator Joe Manchin (D) over Patrick Morrisey (R) 

Wisconsin: Senator Tammy Baldwin (D) over Leah Vukmir (R) 

Wyoming: Senator John Barrasso (R) over Gary Trauner (D) and Joseph Porambo (L)

IF, and that's a big if, my predictions are spot on, there will be 53 Republicans in the Senate and 46 Democrats with one seat up for grabs in a run-off come Wednesday morning.

Select House Races:

CA-10: Rep. Jeff Denham (R) over Josh Harder (D)

CA-22: Rep. Devin Nunes (R) over Andrew Janz (D)

CA-39: (open seat) Young Kim (R) over Gil Cisneros (D)

CA-45: Rep. Mimi Walters (R) over Katie Porter (D)

CA-48: Rep. Dana Rohrabacher (R) over Harley Rouda (D)

CA-50: Rep. Duncan Hunter (R) over Ammar Campa-Najjar (D)

CO-6: Jason Crow (D) over Rep. Mike Coffman (R) 

FL-18: Rep. Brian Mast (R) over Lauren Baer (D)

FL-25: Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R) over Mary Barzee Flores (D)

FL-26: Rep. Carlos Curbelo (R) over Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (D)

FL-27: (open seat) Maria Salazar (R) over Donna Shalala (D)

GA-6: Rep. Karen Handel (R) over Lucy McBath (D)

IL-6: Rep. Peter Roskam (R) over Sean Casten (D)

IA-1: Abby Finkenauer (D) over Rep. Rod Blum (R) 

IA-4: Rep. Steve King (R) over J.D. Scholten (D)

KY-6: Rep. Andy Barr (R) over Amy McGrath (D)

ME-2: Jared Golden (D) over Rep. Bruce Poliquin (R)

MD-1: Rep. Andy Harris (R) over Jesse Colvin (D)

MI-11: (open seat) Lena Epstein (R) over Haley Stevens (D)

NV-3: (open seat) Susie Lee (D) over Danny Tarkanian (R) 

NV-4: (open seat) Cresent Hardy (R) over Steven Horsford (D)

NJ-3: Rep. Tom MacArthur (R) over Andrew Kim (D)

NJ-7: Rep. Leonard Lance (R) over Tom Malinowski (D)

NJ-11: (open seat) Mikie Sherrill (D) over Jay Webber (R) 

NM-2: (open seat) Yvette Herrell (R) over Xochitl Torres Small (D)

NY-1: Rep. Lee Zeldin (R) over Perry Gershon (D)

NY-22: Rep. Claudia Tenney (R) over Anthony Brindisi (D)

NY-27: Nate McMurray (D) over Rep. Chris Collins (R) 

OH-1: Rep. Steve Chabot (R) over Aftab Pureval (D)

OH-12: Rep. Troy Balderson (R) over Danny O’ Connor (D)

PA-1: Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R) over Scott Wallace (D)

PA-16: Rep. Mike Kelly (R) over Ronald Di Nicola (D)

PA-17: Conor Lamb (D) over Rep. Keith Rothfus (R) 

TX-23: Rep. Will Hurd (R) over Gina Ortiz Jones (D)

TX-32: Rep. Pete Sessions (R) over Colin Allred (D)

UT-4: Rep. Mia Love (R) over Ben McAdams (D)

VA-7: Rep. Dave Brat (R) over Abigail Spanberger (D)

VA-10: Jennifer Wexton (D) over Rep. Barbara Comstock (R) 

WA-3: Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (R) over Carolyn Long (D)

WA-5: Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R) over Lisa Brown (D)

WA-8 (open seat) Kim Schrier (D) over Dino Rossi (R) 

WV-3 (open seat) Carol Miller (R) over Richard Ojeda (D)

Sanford D. Horn is a writer and educator living in Westfield, IN.

No comments:

Post a Comment